Big Changes For The 2009 St. Patrick’s Day Dash

The 25th annual St. Patrick’s Day Dash will see some big changes to the course. The race that unofficially kicks off the start of the racing season has become famous for its fast, point to point course that runs along the Alaska Way Viaduct. However, due to extensive construction near Qwest and Safeco Fields as well as past troubles with shuttling people to the start line, the course will now be an out and back that starts and ends near the Seattle Center (course map). The new course will start in about the same place but instead of heading through the Battery Street Tunnel the south along the Viaduct you will now head north along Aurora Avenue and do an out and back.

The new course will be 3.8 miles. Since it is an out and back I’m not sure why they didn’t take the opportunity to make the race an even 4 miles. The new course doesn’t look like it will be near as fast as the old one was. But I figure I will wait till after I have run the race to decide what I think about the change. I did love that old course though.

There is some good news about the 2009 race. If you enter by January 1st you will save $10. So get your entry in now. Let me know what you think of the new course and I’ll see you at the 2009 St. Patrick’s Day Dash.

2 Comments

Filed under Races

2 responses to “Big Changes For The 2009 St. Patrick’s Day Dash

  1. Dan C

    The course is not as attractive, scenery-wise and the distance thing really irks me. When I emailed the fine folks at St. Paddy’s day, this is what they told me about the course: “The route tracker (referring to USATF Route tracker) goes by what you draw on the screen, not the actual distance we place the turn around or exact location of the finish line. Since we are not a USATF certified distance, and this is the first year of this route, we do not have an exact distance. It will not be shorter, however.”

    Soooo…. why not make it exact using the tracker? Anyhoo, I still plan to partake in this ‘inaugural’ course and then make up my mind if I ever want to throw down $20 again for this race.

  2. Steve

    I’m with you on that. I’ll do it this year and see what the new course is like. As long as the field remains as competitive as in the past it will still be a fun race.

Leave a Reply

